Self Care

“You can’t pour from an empty cup. Take care of yourself first.” – Unknown 

Hello all you beautiful people! I hope you’re having a wonderful start to this snowy day. Today I want to talk about self care and how important it is to our quality of life. When looking up the definition of self care, it simply just says “to care for oneself.” I believe that self care is something way more than that. Self care is very sacred and I would even say spiritual experience. Ever since we were young, we have had to learn how to take care of ourselves. The very first things we learn as a child is basic self care needs, like brushing our teeth or combing our hair. And because self care is something that is pretty much required it almost seems like a chore sometimes, but it shouldn’t be. Self care can be anything from having a luxurious spa day to something as simple as sleeping in. I know most days I’m so busy that self care doesn’t even cross my mind. And honestly most days my self care routine is taking a shower. This is something that I want/need to change. One of my goals for 2018 is to practice self care at least once a day that isn’t basic needs. If you guys are struggling with self care (like me) then check out the tips below. Even if you’re not struggling, you should still check them out 😉

Self care tips 101


  1. Craving – If you’re craving something, give it to yourself. When your craving something weather it be yoga or chocolate, it means your body needs it. When I was in the depths of my ED I would crave chocolate and sweets so much. And it was because my body needed the sugar to give me energy and just survive. Your body will never let you down or fail you. Please listen to what your body needs and respect those needs.
  2. Do it for you – If your self care routine consists of things you feel you need to do, then its time look at your routine. And decide if this routine is something you’re doing for yourself or for other reasons. I still struggle with this one a lot. I used to love doing my makeup and now it has almost become a chore for me. Recently,  I have reduced the amount of makeup I wear and the time I spend on it. Im not gonna lie it feels awesome. I feel free and a step closer to ultimate self love. ❤
  3. Mindfulness – This one is a fun one guys. Being mindful is a very challenging thing to do when our minds are constantly going. I found that the easiest way to practice mindfulness is through mediation. To be able to let the thoughts just flow over you and not pay attention to them or act on them is a weight lifting experience. If meditation is not for you, there are plenty of other activities that you can do to practice mindfulness. I have attached a post with some more easy mindfulness activities you can practice.             10 Easy Mindfulness Practices
  4. Practice makes perfect – Practice does make perfect! Try introducing a new self care act and practice it everyday. Do a face mask, make some hot cocoa, treat yourself to a nice new item. When I started to realize that this is the only body I have in my lifetime, I started to treat myself better. I no longer would only let myself have ice cream on “cheat days”. I would and could have ice cream anytime, anyway I wanted. And this should be the same for you as well. If you want ice cream then do it! Eat the shit out of that ice cream and enjoy it! You deserve it!

If you try any of these tips, please let me know what went well for you or what didn’t! I love hearing what you guys have to say!

Be kind to yourselves. Love yourselves.

Love, lex

Leave a comment